Colorado Car Insurance Requirements

The State of Colorado follows a Tort system, meaning someone must be found at-found for causing the accident and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages.

co

In Colorado, you cannot register your car without the following minimum insurance levels:

  • Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000/$50,000 Limit
  • Property Damage Liability: $15,000 Limit

Colorado also requires mandatory “med-pay” coverage with all policies.

Proof of Insurance:

You must carry proof of insurance at all times in the vehicle.  Without that, you run the risk of a minimum $500 fine, and four points placed on your motor vehicle record

For more information:

Motor Vehicle

1881 Pierce St.

Lakewood, Colorado 80214

http://www.dora.state.co.us/Insurance/consumer/AutoMain.htm