North Dakota Car Insurance Requirements

The state of North Dakota follows a No-Fault system meaning your insurance company will make payments for your injury claims regardless of fault, up to a specified limit.

nd

Minimum insurance requirements include:

  • $25,000―Per person
  • $50,000―Per accident for bodily injury
  • $25,000―Per accident for property damage
  • $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident―Uninsured motorist coverage
  • $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident―Underinsured motorist coverage
  • $30,000―No-fault coverage

Proof of Insurance:

You must carry your insurance identification card with you at all times. Driving without insurance carries a minimum fine of $150, and possible impounding of your car.

For more information:

http://www.dmv-department-of-motor-vehicles.com/ND_North%20Dakota_dmv_department_of_motor_vehicles.htm

Department of Transportation

608 East Boulevard Avenue

Bismarck, ND