West Virginia Car Insurance Requirements

The state of West Virginia follows a Tort system meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages.

wv

Minimum insurance requirements include:

  • $10,000 for property damages
  • $20,000 for one accident, one injury/death
  • $40,000 for one accident, two injuries/deaths

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility:

The Department of Motor Vehicles will verify your insurance information when you renew your registration. The DMV may even request that you provide proof of insurance at random throughout the year. You risk registration suspension and fines if you don’t maintain your insurance.

For more information:

http://www.wvdot.com/6_motorists/dmv/6G_dmv.htm

Department of Motor Vehicles

Building 3, Capitol Complex
1800 Kanawha Boulevard East
Charleston, WV 25317