Georgia Car Insurance Requirements

Georgia follows a Tort system, meaning someone must be found at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages.

ga

Georgia state law requires minimum insurance of:

  • Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000/$50,000 Limit
    Property Damage Liability: $25,000 Limit

There’s also a new Uninsured Motorist coverage option for all motorists.

Proof of Insurance:

The Department of Revenue requires your insurance company to submit your policy information electronically to a statewide database when you purchase coverage.  Without insurance, you risk:  registration suspension for up to six months, depending on the offense number, and certain fines.

For more information:

http://motor.etax.dor.ga.gov/motor/insurance/

Motor Vehicle Division
1200 Tradeport Blvd.
Hapeville, GA 30354