Minnesota Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Minnesota follows a No-Fault system meaning your insurance company will make payments for your injury claims regardless of fault, up to a specified limit.

mnn

Minimum insurance requirements include:

Liability Insurance

  • $30,000 for injuries to one person
  • $60,000 for injuries to two or more people
  • $10,000 for property damage

Personal Injury Protection

  • $40,000 per person per accident
  • $20,000 for medical expenses
  • $20,000 for non-medical expenses such as lost wages

Underinsured Motorist Coverage

  • $25,000 for injuries to one person
  • $50,000 for injuries to two or more people

Uninsured Motorist Coverage

  • $25,000 for injuries to one person
  • $50,000 for injuries to two or more people

Proof of Insurance:  You must carry your insurance card at all times. You risk jail time and fines if you let your insurance lapse.

For more information:

Minnesota Department of Transportation
395 John Ireland Boulevard

St. Paul, MN 55155-1899

http://www.dot.state.mn.us/cars.html