North Carolina Car Insurance Requirements

The state of North Carolina follows a Tort system meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages.

nc

  • To meet the required coverage, you must have at least the following amount of insurance protection:
    • $30,000 of coverage for injuries or death involving one person in a single accident.
    • $60,000 of coverage for injuries or deaths involving two or more people in a single accident.
    • $25,000 of property damage coverage.

Proof of Insurance:

While insurance agencies can contact the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) concerning your insurance coverage, it’s up to you to prove to the DMV that you meet the state’s requirements by furnishing either the Certificate of Insurance (FS-1) issued by your carrier or the policy number and name of insurance company. Without insurance, your license could be suspended for 30 days and you may have to pay a series of fines.

For more information:

http://www.ncdot.org/DMV/

NC Division of Motor Vehicles
Vehicle Registration Section
Mail and Distribution Unit
3148 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-3148