Nebraska Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Nebraska follows a Tort system meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages.

nb

The state gives you several options for meeting your financial responsibilities. You can:

  • Make a cash deposit in the amount of $75,000 with the state treasure. State Treasurer.
  • Obtain a certificate of self-insurance if you have more than 26 cars.
  • Obtain a surety bond with a company authorized to operate in Nebraska
  • Purchase a liability insurance policy, with minimums of:
      • $25,000 per person per accident
      • $50,000 per accident bodily injury
      • $25,000 per accident property damage

Proof of Insurance:

You must carry proof of insurance with you. If you fail to show coverage, you risk receiving a $500 fine and license and registration suspension.

For more information:

http://www.dmv.state.ne.us/

Nebraska State Office Building
Driver Licensing Services
301 Centennial Mall South
P.O. Box 94726
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4726