Hawaii Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Hawaii follows a No-Fault system meaning your insurance company will make payments for your injury claims regardless of fault, up to a specified limit

ha

In Hawaii, you must carry a minimum of:

$20,000/40,000 Bodily Injury Liability

  • $10,000 Personal Injury Protection
  • $10,000 Property Damage Liability
  • $20,000/40,000 Underinsured Motorist (optional)
  • $20,000/40,000 Uninsured Motorist (optional)

Proof of insurance:

You must carry a valid Hawaii auto insurance card in your vehicle at all times. You risk being issued a citation and being fined.

For more information:

http://www.state.hi.us/dot/publicaffairs/motorvehicleregistration.htm

Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs

King Kalakaua Building

335 Merchant Street

Honolulu, HI 96813