Vermont Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Vermont follows a Tort system meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages.

vt

Vermont residents must do one of the following:

  • Purchase a surety bond
  • Prove you are self-insured in the amount of $115,000
  • Purchase liability insurance with at least these minimums:
        • $25,000 for injury/death to any one person
        • $50,000 for injuries/deaths for two or more people
        • $10,000 for damages to property in any one accident

Proof of insurance:

You must show proof when you register your car. If at any time you allow your coverage to lapse or can show no proof of insurance, you could face a civil traffic citation and fines or additional points against your driver’s license.

For more information:

http://www.bishca.state.vt.us/InsurDiv/insur_index.htm

Department of Banking, Insurance, Securities
& Health Care Administration (BISHCA)
89 Main St.  Montpelier, VT 05620-3101