Rhode Island Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Rhode Island follows a Tort system meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages.

rh

To meet the mandatory insurance law, you must have at least the following protection:

  • $25,000 of bodily injury coverage for injuries or death occurring to one person in an accident
  • $50,000 of bodily injury coverage for injuries or deaths occurring to more than one person in an accident
  • $25,000 of property damage coverage per accident

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility

Your insurer will notify the Department of Motor Vehicles if your policy has lapsed or been canceled. If you have no insurance, you could be cited, have to pay a $500 fine, and have your license suspended for three months. But, if you can show within 10 days that you had the proper insurance at the time of the traffic violation, your penalties may be waived.

For more information:

http://www.dmv.state.ri.us/

Department of Motor Vehicles

100 Main Street
Pawtucket, RI
02860