Oregon Car Insurance Regulations

The state of Oregon follows a Tort system meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages. All drivers are required to carry car insurance.

or

You must have a minimum amount of liability insurance, namely:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily and property damage.
  • $10,000 per crash for others’ property damage.
  • $50,000 per crash for bodily injury to others.
  • $15,000 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) for expenses after the crash.
  • $25,000 per person/$50,000 per crash of Uninsured Motorist Coverage.

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility

Once you purchase insurance, you’ll have to always carry proof of it in your car and show it during auto registration and some other transactions. Without insurance, you risk fines, license suspension and additional penalties if you cause an accident while uninsured.

For more information:

http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/driverid/InsuranceAccidents.shtml

DMV Headquarters
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR  97314