Delaware Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Delaware follows a Tort system meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages.

de

To meet the liability insurance requirements, you must have a minimum of:

  • $10,000 for property damage
  • $15,000 for bodily injury or death of one person
  • $30,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people
  • You must also carry a minimum of $15,000 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Penalties for getting caught with no insurance:

  • Fines include:  Automatic license suspension for six months.
  • Fines of at least $1,500.

For more information:

http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/auto/auto_topics.shtml

State of Delaware, Department of Insurance

841 Silver Lake Blvd.
Dover, DE 19904