Washington Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Washington follows a Tort system meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages.

se

In order to legally operate a vehicle on state roads, you must have proof of financial responsibility, which might include:

  • Purchase an auto insurance policy  of at least:
  • $25,000 of bodily injury for one person per accident.
  • $50,000 of bodily injury for two people per accident.
  • $10,000 of property damage per accident.
    • Leave a certificate of deposit for at least $60,000 with the State Treasurer’s office or in a state of Washington bank account.
    • File a liability bond for at least $60,000 with a surety bond company authorized by the state.
    • Self-insure, if you are a car dealer with at least 26 cars

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility

Whether insurance or bond, you must carry proof with you. You risk fines of at least $450 if you don’t do so.

http://www.dol.wa.gov/

Department of Licensing
PO Box 9030
Olympia, WA 98507-9030