Kansas Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Kansas follows a No-Fault system meaning your insurance company will make payments for your injury claims regardless of fault, up to a specified limit

ks

Here are the minimum requirements you must carry:

Liability

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
  • $10,000 per accident for property damage

Personal Injury Protection

  • $4,500 per person for medical expenses
  • $900 month for one year for disability and/or loss of income (for one year)
  • $25 per day for in-home services (for one year)
  • $2,000 for funeral, burial or cremation expenses
  • $4,500 for rehabilitation expenses

Uninsured/Underinsured

  • $25,000 per person
  • $50,000 per accident

Proof of Insurance:

Insurance companies are obligated to notify the DMV if you allow your insurance to expire. You risk major fines and possible jail time if you go without insurance.

For more information:

http://www.ksinsurance.org/consumers/autohome.htm

Kansas Insurance Department

420 SW 9th Street

Topeka, Kansas 66612-1678