New York Car Insurance Requirements

The state of New York follows a No-Fault system meaning your insurance company will make payments for your injury claims regardless of fault, up to a specified limit.

ny

You must purchase auto insurance in New York. The minimums are:

  • $25,000/50,000 for injury
  • $50,000/100,000 for death
  • $10,000 for property damage caused by any one accident

Proof of Insurance:

Be sure your insurance company files an electronic notice of insurance coverage with the DMV; this is NOT something an agent or broker can do. This is very important in proving financial responsibility as showing the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) your card alone will not suffice. If you don’t, you risk having your license and registration will be suspended, and you may be fined $1,500.

For more information:

http://www.nydmv.state.ny.us/

NYSDMV
6 Empire State Plaza
Albany, NY  12228