South Carolina Car Insurance Requirements

The state of South Carolina follows a Tort system, meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages

sc

The state does allow some residents to register as uninsured motorists for a fee of $550 per year. Registering as an uninsured motorist means the state allows you to drive without insurance, but it doesn’t mean you’re covered in the event you need actual insurance.

  • If you choose to purchase a liability insurance policy or you aren’t eligible to register as an uninsured motorist, your liability insurance must include:
    • $25,000 per person for bodily injury coverage
    • $50,000 per accident
    • $25,000 for personal property

Proof of Insurance:  You must carry proof in your vehicle, and provide it when you apply for and renew your driver’s license and when you register your vehicle. Without it, you face citations, fines or imprisonment.

For more information:

http://www.scdmvonline.com/DMVNew/default.aspx?n=insurance_requirements

Department of Motor Vehicles

10311 Wilson Boulevard – Building C
Blythewood, South Carolina 29016