South Dakota Car Insurance Requirements

The state of South Dakota follows a Tort system meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages.

sd

South Dakota drivers have four options to prove financial responsibility:

  • Self-insurance if you have more than 26 vehicles to register
  • A surety bond with an authorized in-state broker.
  • A $50,000 Certificate of Deposit with the state treasurer
  • Liability insurance of at least:
      • $25,000 for injury/death to one person
      • $50,000 for injury/death to more than one person
      • $25,000 for damage to property

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility

You must carry proof of coverage with you at all times. If you don’t, you risk a $100 fine and possibly 30 days in the county jail.

For more information:

South Dakota Department of Revenue & Regulation

445st Capitol Avenue

Pierre, SD 57501-3185

http://www.state.sd.us/DRR2/motorvehicle/title/register.htm