New Mexico Car Insurance Regulations

The state of New Mexico follows a Tort system meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages.

nm

You can establish your financial responsibility in one of two ways:

  • Leave $60,000 with the state treasurer’s office in the form of cash or a surety bond.
  • Buy automobile liability insurance of at least:
      • $20,000 for bodily injury or death of one person
      • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury to or death of two or more people
      • $10,000 per accident for property damage

Proof of Insurance:

After you buy insurance and register your car, you’ll need to carry proof of insurance or the deposit with you at all times.

The insurance company will give you an insurance card that has your policy number, vehicle information, and name on it. You need to have this in case you are in an accident or if a police officer asks to see your proof of insurance.

Penalties for Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility

If you are truly driving around without insurance, you face misdemeanor or other criminal charges, fines of $300 or more, and losing vehicle registration.

For more information:

http://www.tax.state.nm.us/mvd/mvd_home.htm

Motor Vehicle Division
Joseph Montoya Building
P.O. Box 1028
1100 South St. Francis Drive
Santa Fe 87504-1028