Maryland Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Maryland follows a Tort system meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages.

md

Minimum Insurance Coverages Include:

  • $20,000 for bodily injury per person.
  • $40,000 for bodily injury for two people or more.
  • $15,000 for property damage.

In addition, you must also have:

  • Uninsured motorist coverage, for the same amounts found above. This is basically a duplicate to your own liability insurance, except that it will cover you in case an uninsured person hits you.
  • $2,500 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP), for medical expenses related to an accident for your passengers.

Proof of Insurance:

Before or at the time you register your car, you must file a form called FR-19 with the Motor Vehicle Administration. This is your proof of insurance. Without it, you risk fines and suspension of license.

For more information:

http://www.mva.maryland.gov/VehicleServ/INSURANCE/default.htm

Maryland Department of Motor Vehicles

6601 Ritchie Highway, N.E.

Glen Burnie, MD 21062

Maryland Department of Motor Vehicles

6601 Ritchie Highway, N.E.

Glen Burnie, MD 21062