New Jersey Car Insurance Regulations

The state of New Jersey follows a Choice No-Fault system meaning drivers may reject the No-Fault system options and retain the right to sue (Tort system) for any auto-related injury

nj

Drivers have three choices:

  • Basic liability meets the state’s minimum requirements.
  • Standard liability is the state’s most popular coverage.
  • Self-insurance is available only if you have more than 25 vehicles registered

Basic requirements:

  • $10,000 as an option for injury/death to more than one person
  • $5,000 for property damage

Bodily injury liability for one person is not offered under Basic. This policy is generally geared towards young drivers with limited assets.

Standard requirements:

  • $15,000 for injury/death for one person
  • $30,000 for injury death to more than one person
  • $5,000 for property damage
  • $15,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
  • $15,000 for uninsured/underinsured motorist injury

Proof of insurance:

You must carry either the certificate of self-insurance or your insurance card with you. If you don’t, you risk fines, suspensions, and possible community service requirements.

For more information:

http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/

New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
P.O. Box 160
Trenton, NJ 08666