Utah Car Insurance Requirements

Utah is a no-fault state. This means that if two residents are involved in an accident, each would be covered by their own insurance policy, regardless of which one was responsible.

ut

Utah state laws require minimum drivers to carry a minimum of:

Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000/$65,000 Limit
Property Damage Liability: $15,000 Limit
Personal Injury Protection: $3,000 Limit

All drivers are also required to purchase Personal Injury Protection, insurance

Proof of Insurance:

You’ll receive a card from your insurance company, which you need to keep with you at all times.

If you have no proof of insurance or fail to provide it when requested, you will be reported to the DMV and law enforcement. Driving an uninsured vehicle is a class B misdemeanor and carries a minimum fine of $400 for a first offense.

For more information:

http://www.insurance.utah.gov/

Utah Insurance Department

3110 State Office Building
Salt Lake City, UT 84114