Pennsylvania Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Pennsylvania follows a Tort system where you can choose tort options to define your right to compensation in the event that another party injures you or members of your household in an auto accident.

pn

Minimum insurance requirements include:

  • $15,000 of coverage for an injury or death to one person in a single accident.
  • $30,000 of coverage for injuries or deaths to more than one person in a single accident.
  • $5000 of property damage insurance.

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility

In Pennsylvania, you’ll need to carry proof of insurance with you. If you let your insurance lapse, you risk not being to drive, a $300 fine, and several other fees.

For more information:

http://www.dmv.state.pa.us/

Pennsylvania Department of Transportation
1101 South Front Street
Harrisburg, PA 17104