Montana Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Montana follows a Tort system meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages.

mont

There are several alternatives to meeting the state’s motor vehicle liability law:

  • Carrying a bond with a surety company authorized to operate in the state.
  • Making a cash deposit of $55,000 with the state treasurer.
  • Obtaining a self-insurance certificate. But this only applies to individuals with at least 25 vehicles registered under his or her name.
    • Carrying traditional liability insurance

Minimum insurance requirements include:

  • $25,000 for injury/death for one person
  • $50,000 for injury/death to more than one person
  • $10,000 for damage to property

.

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility

Your insurance company will notify the state of your insurance status. Without insurance, you risk fines up to $500 or possible jail time.

For more information:

http://www.doj.mt.gov/driving/vehicletitleregistration.asp

Attorney General Steve Bullock
Department of Justice
P.O. Box 201401
Helena, MT 59620-1401