Maine Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Maine follows a Tort system meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages.

mn

Minimum insurance coverages include:

  • $50,000 for the injury/death to any one person
  • $100,000 for one accident resulting in injury/death of more than one person
  • $25,000 for property damage

Proof of Coverage: You must notify the state when you obtain coverage; Maine does not have any direct-reporting system in place. If you allow your coverage to lapse you could face fines, a ticket with a charge of uninsured operation, and even registration and license suspension.

For more information:

http://www.maine.gov/pfr/insurance/

Department of Professional & Financial Regulation

Bureau of Insurance

34 State House Station

Augusta, Maine 04333