Oklahoma Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Oklahoma follows a Tort system meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages.

ok

To prove financial responsibility, you may:

  • Cover yourself
  • Make a cash deposit of $75,000
    • $25,000―Injury or death of one person
    • $50,000―Injury or death of two or more persons
    • $25,000―For property damage
  • Take out a self-insurance policy if you have 25 or more vehicles registered under your name.
  • Obtain a bond issued by an authorized surety company
  • Obtain minimum insurance levels of:

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility

Though the Department of Public Safety (DPS) maintains an online verification system, you will still need to provide proof if you are stopped or involved in an accident. You’ll face the following penalties if caught with no proof of insurance:

  • A fine of up to $250.
  • A possible jail sentence of up to 30 days.
  • Suspension of your registration and license.

For more information:

http://www.dps.state.ok.us/

Oklahoma Department of Public Safety
3600 North Martin Luther King Avenue
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73111