Tennessee Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Tennessee follows a Tort system meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages.

tn

In Tennessee, you may either:

  • Purchase liability coverage, or
  • Post a cash deposit or bond with the Department of Safety (DOS).

Minimum insurance requirements include:

  • $25,000 for one injury or death
  • $50,000 for all injuries or deaths
  • $15,000 for property damage for one accident

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility:

Keep your insurance card or binder with you at all times. If you don’t, you risk a fine and license suspension.

For more information:

http://www.state.tn.us/commerce/insurance/index.shtml

Department of Commerce and Insurance

500 James Robertson Pkwy

Nashville, TN 37243-0565