Wyoming Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Wyoming follows a Tort system meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages.

wy

Ways to Establish Financial Responsibility in Wyoming:

  • Purchase a liability insurance policy.
  • Secure a bond with a surety company authorized to do business in Wyoming or with at least two individual sureties that own real estate in Wyoming.
  • Deposit $25,000 (or securities of equal value) with the state treasurer.

Wyoming Liability Insurance Requirements for Private Passenger Vehicles

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
  • $20,000 per accident for property damage

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility:

If you purchase insurance, your insurance company will send you a “proof of insurance” card. If you secured a bond or made a deposit to the treasurer, you will need a certificate to prove it. Without proof, you risk fine or possible prison time.

For more information:

http://www.dot.state.wy.us/wydot/driver_license_records/insurance_verification

WYDOT Headquarters
5300 Bishop Blvd.
Cheyenne, WY