Florida Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Florida follows a No-Fault system meaning your insurance company will make payments for your injury claims regardless of fault, up to a specified limit.

fl

To meet the state’s requirements, you must have:

  • $10,000 for one person in bodily injury liability
  • $20,000 for two or more people in bodily injury liability
  • $10,000 per crash in property damage liability
  • $30,000 in combined single limits

Florida state law does require Personal Injury Protection.  .

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility:

Your insurance company will send the state information about your insurance, and the state will keep that information in its computer system. Without insurance, you risk suspension of your driver’s privileges for up to three years or until you’re able to show proof of insurance.

For more information:

Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
Neil Kirkman Building
2900 Apalachee Parkway
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0500

http://www.flhsmv.gov/