Kentucky Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Kentucky follows a Choice No-Fault system meaning drivers may reject the No-Fault system options and retain the right to sue (Tort system) for any auto-related injury.

ky

Minimum insurance requirements include:

  • $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person in an accident
  • $50,000 for all bodily injuries per accident
  • $10,000 of property damage liability per accident

Proof of Insurance:

Insurance companies are required to electronically report personal lines of motor vehicle insurance. If you have no proof of insurance, you risk hefty fines and license and registration revocation. .

Kentucky’s Department of Insurance at (800) 595-6053 and Division of Motor Vehicle Licensing at (502) 564-5301 can answer questions you might have about purchasing liability and no-fault insurance, as well as paying your particular fines and other steps to reinstating your license and registration.

For more information:

http://transportation.ky.gov/mvl/faqs/FAQs.htm

Kentucky Transportation Cabinet

200 Mero Street

Frankfort, KY 40622