Mississippi Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Mississippi follows a Tort system meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages.

miss

Minimum insurance requirements include:

  • $25,000 per person per single accident
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
  • $25,000 per accident for property damage

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility:

You don’t have to show proof of insurance during vehicle registration or renewal; however, you must show it if asked. You face stiff penalties, including fines and suspensions.

For more information:

http://www.mmvc.state.ms.us/mmvc/MotorVeh.nsf

Motor Vehicles Division

1755 Lelia Drive, Suite 200
Jackson, MS  39216