NO FAULT States Explained

No Fault, by definition, simply means that your policy would pay for you no matter who was at fault for an accident. As stated before, many states have a NO FAULT feature on their policy, related to medical coverage, but some states have NO FAULT total policies. This simply means that the whole accident will be covered by YOUR insurance policy. The other person’s would take care of their claim. This includes medical coverage and damage to your vehicle. As of the writing of this ebook, the following state are considered NO FAULT states:


Florida, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Hawaii, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, North Dakota, and Utah. In addition to how claims are settled in no fault states, there are also provisions that limit the lawsuits filed against the at fault drivers as well. Most no fault states limit your ability to file a lawsuit except in only the most severe of accidents. There are a few states, however, that have taken this provision away, and allow lawsuits even for smaller incidents. Because of the varied and complex nature of these laws, I ask that if you live in a no fault state and you want to know exactly what your rights are, visit with your insurance agent, company, or a qualified attorney. My best advice is, again, if your policy is covering you and your family, don’t skimp on the coverage to try to save money. You may end up costing yourself thousands and thousands of dollars if you are involved in a serious accident.

Photo credit/Flickr/bixentro

This entry was posted on Saturday, July 25th, 2009 at 2:04 pm and is filed under article. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply